Sunday, July 20, 2014

Superintendent Swenson Hosts Tour of District Office

GUHSD Superintendent Ralf Swenson had the pleasure of visiting with a special group of Helix and Grossmont graduates on June 24. The alumnae from the 1950s came to tour the renovated District Office building prior to their monthly lunch gathering. The ladies recalled fond memories and shared stories of their high school experiences with Superintendent Swenson over punch and cookies.
Built in 1922, the 35,000-square-foot District Office building was the first classroom building constructed for Grossmont High School. After the campus expanded and new buildings were added, the original classroom building was converted into the GUHSD district office in 1958.
The 14.2 million renovation project involved two separate buildings, the Stone Building and the Old Main, both of which required comprehensive utility, environmental and seismic upgrades to meet current safety standards, Americans with Disabilities (ADA) and Field Act compliance. The offices currently house employees in the special education, business services and educational services departments, human resources as well as the superintendent’s office.
The project team went to great lengths to assure that modern improvements and traditional architectural features were successfully blended in order to honor the building’s rich history.

No comments:

Post a Comment